Nation of laws v. Nation of men

17 September, 2008

“For as in absolute governments the king is law, so in free countries the law ought to be king; and there ought to be no other.” –Thomas Paine

“A government of laws, and not of men.” — John Adams

From CNN:

Aides to Gov. Sarah Palin won’t comply with subpoenas issued by state lawmakers investigating the firing of Alaska’s former public safety commissioner, since Palin “has declined to participate” in the probe, her attorney general says.

–snip—

Attorney General Talis Colberg, a Palin appointee, told the investigation’s manager in a letter released Wednesday. “However, our clients are also loyal employees subject to the supervision of the governor.”

Loyal to whom?

Loyal to the law as set in the constitution they swore to uphold?

Or loyal to a person?

This is a nation of laws. I would die to defend that. Would you?

10 Responses to “Nation of laws v. Nation of men”

  1. Lefty said

    I don’t know. I would like to think I have allegiance to the United States. But I think that it’s a bit like a marriage. I couldn’t possibly imagine my marriage having ended, except that I can. I can’t imagine the United States ending, except that I most certainly can. It’s only our 2nd republic after all. I mean the French have had 5! (Granted they also had two Napoleons and a Hitler).

    I know upon return to the U.S. from a trip overseas I was extremely happy to see the stars and stripes, and to use dollars again. And I think that this country is filled with a lot of fundamentally good people. But I also think the country to the north and the countries to the south and the ones on the other side of the world are too.

    This is a nation made up of a heaping pile of conflicting, ill-advised, poorly implemented, and arbitrary laws designed by those with power to benefit only themselves. I’m not sure I’d die to defend that.

    What I would die to defend is those that I love: my family and my friends. If it ever got to the point where everyone was killing each other, then that’s the side I’d take. Obviously, it’s never that easy — I imagine that my ancestral family wore both blue and grey on each side of the mountain.

  2. mdh said

    A well regulated militia…..

  3. Chuckles said

    How does one “decline” to participate in a legal investigation?

    “No thanks, officer, you can’t arrest me since I decline to participate in your investigation.”

    It’s the new glove-don’t fit-acquit defense.

  4. Jennifer said

    You catch more crap merely “declining” to participate in jury duty.

    mdh- I can’t get that silly French kangaroo out of my mind.

  5. mdh said

    J-

    it;s because of that song.

    Is it the golfer or the elevator? Or the cafeteria?

  6. mdh said

    The Kangaroo link

    mainly posted here for lefty’s benefit.

  7. Lefty said

    You’re absolutely allowed to decline a subpoena. That’s where the “poena” part comes in. Whether the entity enforcing the penalty has noots in their sack is a different story. And the kangaroo sucks. Except for the part at the food court.

  8. I think this AG needs to kick her AG’s tuckus!!

    That’s what I thinks.

  9. mdh said

    declining a subpoena and declining to take part in the investigation are different things, that’s her actions. And the reason cited by her staff for refusal of the subpoena’s (their actions) is out of loyalty to a person, not her office.

    And yeah, the kangaroo is mean. But the cafeteria and the elevator almost make up for the sand and the puddle. Still made me laugh.

    Sorta like the /b/tards, not people I want to know real well (or know about knowing), but glad they exist.

Leave a Reply

