Why I hate Katie Kouric

23 July, 2008

Ok, not really, but I don’t like her work much these days.

Last night I was struck with a bit of insomnia, so I do what I always do – I turned on my TV and zoned out. I don’t have cable so I’m stuck with a very few chanels. One of those is CBS, so I got to watch the back to back interview with Senators Barack Obaba and John McCain, at least 3 times. Insomnia was real bad. You can watch the interview yourself at CBS News.com. I’d post them here but there are Exxon advertisements imbedded, and so I won’t.

So, here’s what struck me about the interview. The Obama interview was the two of them in an open space with lights. Two cameras, no other stuff. She asked Obama some reasonable questions, but then she got to asking about “The Surge”. As soon as Ms. Couric asked Obama three times about The Surge (once vague, once more specific, and once insultingly directly after he answered three times quite thoroughly). He used answers that were direct and showed a nuanced understanding of the situation. Then they cut the last 2/3rds of the interview and suddenly, as soon an Obama stopped talking there we were, mid-interview with Sen. McCain. Her interview with him was, well, different. It was a once camera thing and she and McCain were not in the same room. His sentences were shorter, and were more about Obama than about The Surge itself. Also, whenever McCain was asked about The Surge, he answered, but the video went from a one-shot of his face to footage of our servicepeople being heroes in Iraq – building schools, directing traffic, etc…

So, when Obama talks about Iraq, he gets asked obtuse questions, and when McCain is asked, he gets footage of our servicemembers at work.

In the end, the piece was poorly edited, and had an agenda so palpable I had to duck repeatedly else I be brained by it. The Surge is a media narrative every bit as much as it is a military strategy, and Obama threatens the simplicity of their narrative by using big words.

Katie Couric, You are not now and you never will be Tim Russert. If you love America, please take a page from Helen Thomas and ask real questions of the right people.

14 Responses to “Why I hate Katie Kouric”

  1. Jennifer said

    I’d much rather watch Project Runway in all its catty glory than watch Katie Couric. At least I know PR isn’t supposed to be asking the hard questions.

  2. mdh said

    I’d rather See KC on PR. Her attitude is wholly appropriate for that show.

  3. You had insomnia and you didn’t post on RoD. Whatevs. 🙂

    KC used to be OK until she thought she was better than the Today Show. Now she is a Barbara WaWa wanna-be and she doesn’t have the ovaries to do that job!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Lefty said

    Barbara Walters thought she was better than the Today show. Bryant Gumbel thought he was better than the Today show. I wonder when Uncle Matt will decide he is better than the Today show.

  5. Barbara was and is bettah. I am sorry!!!

    • This is the first time I ever heard anyone saying Kitty had a bias towards Conservatives. WOW!

      On the matter of the surge, 0bama was wrong when he opposed it in Iraq. That seems clear enough. You got to give McCain that one.

      I agree that Babs is better.

  6. Lefty said

    Better than Katie, or better than Matt?

  7. GV Ron said

    Last night 8/12 Katie had nothing but bad inuendos regarding the USA swim team. She implied they would not have won had it not been for the Nike swim suit, the depth of the water and the width of the pool. She hates America.

  8. BBK said

    I hate Katie Couric. She makes me want to run to the bathroom and take a dump.

  9. Bruno said

    I hate Katie Couric too!Type I HATE KATIE COURIC into a Google search and you’ll get THOUSANDS of hits displayed!!!!CBS should try it. What a weasely little liberal shill. I hope Sarah Palin runs into her on the street someday and jusy beats the shit out of her!

  10. jen said

    I can’t stand her either! Don’t ask me why it would take all day, “far left loone”

  11. Because I know said

    Katie Couric is a bulemic. So sad that she’s never gotten treatment for it. Wonder if she is teaching her technique to her teenage daughters so they can have teeth and gums as pretty as hers!

  12. courtney lindberg said

    I hate that crusted lip bitch!!

  13. Kat said

    I totally agree with you Courtney. I hate Katie Couric’s guts. She thinks she’s everyone’s boss. I wish someone from CBS could slap her a hundred times on the head and then fire her right then and there. She deserves it 100%.

Leave a Reply

