Nuvifone – WANT!

4 March, 2008

Vodpod videos no longer available. from www.techeblog.com posted with vodpod

3 Responses to “Nuvifone – WANT!”

  1. Lefty said

    Apple set a good thing in motion with the non-keyboard interface. I wouldn’t have expected Garmin to make a phone per se; I guess I would have expected them to license their GPS stuff to someone else. Actually, I suspect that will be what ends up happening, unless Garmin is just absorbed completely by Samsung/Motorola/Sony/Ericsson/Nokia/whomever.

    Apple needs to get their true handwriting recognition stuff from Newton off the back burner and into their new iPhones/iPods. And to be the device I’ve always wanted, they need speech recognition.

    And I don’t mean just any speech recognition, but under-the-breath-speaking-to-yourself kind of speech via a bone mic or perhaps a laryngeal sensor (on the throat of course, I’m not swallowing shit). They say that when you sound out words “in your head” that your vocal cords move as if you were pronouncing the words. Who “they” are I don’t know of course, but it seems to me that you should be able to measure this and convert it to speech-recognition data.

  2. mdhatter said

    Garmin is bigger than I think you give them credit for. They’re no midget to be swallowed (but neither was TimeWarner, eh?) I’d estimate that 85-95% of all Garmin products sold are commercial GPS and inertial nav systems hardwired into airliners and ships. This consumer GPS stuff is just a lucrative sideline that’s gets better for them with each release. I’m impressed witht he offering is all.

    Plus, geocoding your photo’s? So cool.

    For the device I’ve always wanted it needs to be at least twice as much screen. Ideally 3 times as much.

    I don’t think I want a device that can translate my (or anyone else’s) subvocalizations. I think that would be bad for all humanity.

  3. Lefty said

    Only when it inadvertently started saying what you were “thinking”

Leave a Reply

